Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: About UsCommittees and StaffSteering Committee

Steering Committee

John Campbell

J. Campbell bioJohn Campbell is Associate Vice President for the Rosen Center for Advanced Computing at Purdue University. For nearly twenty years, John has been involved in the use of technology within higher education. During the past five years, John has examined methods to use academic analytics to identify students “at risk” within courses.

Emanuel Donchin

E. Donchin bioEmanuel Donchin, Professor of Psychology at the University of South Florida, is a cognitive psychophysiologist. Among his interests have been the ethics of research and its regulations. He has served as an officer of the Federation of Behavioral, Psychological, and Cognitive Sciences, and as President of the Society for Psychophysiological Research. He served for 22 years as the executive officer of two Departments of Psychology, at Illinois at and University of South Florida.

Mark Frankel

M. Frankel bioMark Frankel is Director of the Scientific Freedom, Responsibility and Law Program at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He will identify materials, design, use and evaluation. As a consultant, he will focus on the design of user ratings systems, so that they are fair to all and use meaningful metrics. On the Steering Committee, he will collaborate with others to bring industry scientists to the table for discussion of research integrity and the development of teaching and resource materials.

Anna-Maria Marshall

A-M Marshall bioAnna-Maria Marshall is Associate Professor and Head of the Sociology Department at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, where she also has an appointment in the College of Law. She received her J.D. from the University of Virginia (1985) and her Ph.D. in Political Science from Northwestern University (1999). Her research is broadly focused on studying the relationship between law and social change. Her first book, Confronting Sexual Harassment: The Law and Politics of Everyday Life, analyzed the institutional and political foundations of legal consciousness when women navigated problems in the workplace. More recently, her work has focused on law and social movements, particularly the environmental justice movement and lgbt activism. She co-edited the volume, Queer Mobilizations: LGBT Activists Confront the Law (with Scott Barclay and Mary Bernstein). She has also written in the area of cause lawyering, having contributed to two of the cause lawyer volumes edited by Austin Sarat and Stuart Scheingold. Her articles have appeared in Law & Society Review, Law & Social Inquiry, and Studies in Law, Politics and Society. With Scott Barclay and Lynn Jones, Marshall has been one of the co-faciliators of the CRN on Law and Social Movements in the Law and Society Association since 2004. She was the Chair of the Student Paper Prize Committee in 2006 and the Article Prize Committee in 2007. She served on the Program Committee in 2005-2006, and on the LSA Board of Trustees from 2007 to 2009. She also serves on the Council of the ASA’s Sociology of Law Section.

Gary Olsen

G. Olsen bioGary Olsen is Professor of Microbiology at Illinois. His research interests include archaea, bioinformatics, genomics, host-pathogen interactions, and molecular evolution. His teaching interests are computing in molecular biology and research ethics and responsibilities.

Drummond Rennie

D. Rennie bioDrummond Rennie is Deputy Editor of the Journal of the American Medical Association and past president of the Council of Science Editors. The founding director of the International Congress on Peer Review, he brings expertise in the publishing ethics. He has written extensively on misconduct and served on the United States Commission on Research Integrity.

Joan Sieber

J. Sieber bioJoan Sieber is the founding editor of the Journal for Empirical Research in Human Research Ethics and author of Planning Ethically Responsible Research: A Guide for Students and Internal Review Boards. She will contribute her expertise as a social scientist, expert on use of human subjects in research and as an editor. Sieber will co-chair the Ethics Advisory Committee with Co-PI Taft Broome. As a consultant, she will review content proposed for NPREP materials and moderate on-line discussions.

Gretchen Winter

G. Winter bioGretchen Winter is the Executive Director of the Center for Professional Responsibility in Business and Society at the College of Business at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Ms. Winter received her J.D. from the University of Chicago and her bachelor's degree from the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is a frequent speaker for a variety of ethics, corporate social responsibility, and legal programs within and outside of the United States. Ms. Winter chaired the Ethics and Compliance Officer Association Board of Directors and the Conference Board's Council on Global Business Conduct, and she has been on ethics committees for the American Bar Association and DePaul University. Prior to joining the Center, she worked for 18 years at Baxter International. She served for more than a decade as Vice President and Counsel, Business Practices/Ethics and Compliance, and in that role developed the company's global ethics program and provided guidance to those who saw ethical dilemmas in their work. Baxter's business practice program received the Business Ethics Award from DePaul University Institute for Business and Professional Ethics and the Chicago Business Ethics Award, and the company was listed frequently as one of the "100 Best Corporate Citizens" by Corporate Responsibility Officer (f/k/a Business Ethics) magazine. Earlier in her career at Baxter, Ms. Winter also held legal and management roles in labor and employment, employee relations, training and development, and reengineering. Ms. Winter also has worked as an attorney with the firm of Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather, and Geraldson in Chicago and as a legislative analyst with the State of Illinois